Membership in IFAR is open to national aviation research organisations, including universities active in aviation research, which are non-profit and which are owned or mainly funded by public governments and which are charged by the country or countries in which they are located to conduct such research activities on their behalf. One organisation per country is accepted for membership.


Country Institution URL
Australia CSIRO Autonomous Systems Laboratory CSIRO ICT Centre, Brisbane, Queensland
Austria TU Vienna Vienna University of Technology
Belgium VKI Von Karman Institute for Fluid Dynamics
Brazil ITA Instituto Tecnológico de Aeronáutica
Canada NRC National Research Council Canada
China CAE Chinese Aeronautical Establishment
Czech Republic VZLU Czech Aerospace Research Centre
Finland VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
France ONERA The French Aerospace Lab
Germany DLR German Aerospace Centre
Hungary BME Budapest University of Technology and Economics
India CSIR-NAL CSIR-National Aerospace Laboratories
Italy CIRA Centro Italiano Ricerche Aerospaziali
Japan JAXA Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
Korea KARI Korea Aerospace Research Institute
Netherlands Royal NLR Royal Netherlands Aerospace Centre
Poland ILOT Łukasiewicz Research Network – Institute of Aviation 
Portugal CEIIA Centre of Engineering and Product Development
Romania INCAS National Institute for Aerospace Research
Russia  TsAGI Central Aerohydrodynamics Institute of Russia
Singapore A*STAR Agency for Science, Technology and Research
South Africa CSIR Council for Scientific and Industrial Research
Spain INTA National Institute of Aerospace Technology of Spain
Sweden SARC Swedish Aerospace Research Center
Turkey METU Middle East Technical University, Aerospace engineering
United Kingdom ATI Aerospace Technology Institute
USA NASA U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration